• All Wichita Public Library locations will be closed Monday, October 9.

U.S. Congressional Elections

Senators are elected to represent the entire population of a state in the United States Senate. Each state has two senators serving 6-year terms. In Kansas, one seat is up for election in 2026 and the other in 2028.

Representatives are divided into districts based on population. Most states have more than one district. In Kansas, there are four congressional districts representing four sections of the state in the United States House of Representatives. Each representative serves a 2-year term, and all are up for election in 2024.

United States Senators from Kansas

U.S. Representative for the Kansas 4th District

A map highlighting the fourth congressional district of Kansas

Wichita and Sedgwick County are in the fourth congressional district. The district also includes Barber, Butler, Chautauqua, Comanche, Cowley, Edwards, Elk, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Kiowa, Pratt, Stafford, and Sumner counties as well as part of Pawnee County.

Rep. Ron Estes was elected to fill the remainder of former Rep. Mike Pompeo's term in a 2017 special election. He was elected to his first full term in 2018, then re-elected in 2020 and 2022.

This page last updated on December 15, 2022.
© Wichita Public Library. All rights reserved.