• All Wichita Public Library locations will be closed: @ 3 p.m. 12/24, all day 12/25, @ 5 p.m. 12/31 and all day 1/1.

Holiday Closings

​Unless otherwise noted, special closings are for a full day.

All branch libraries are closed on Sundays between Memorial Day and Labor Day. The Advanced Learning Library is open 7 days a week all year, with the exception of the dates on this page.

2019
New Year's DayMonday, Jan. 1
Martin Luther King, Jr. DayMonday, Jan. 21
Presidents DayMonday, Feb. 18
Library Board of Directors-approved closingSunday, April 21
Memorial DaySunday, May 26 and Monday, May 27
Independence DayWednesday, July 4
Labor DaySunday, Sept.​ 1 and Monday, Sept. 2
Staff Inservice DayMonday, Oct. 14
Veterans DayMonday, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving EveClose at 5 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 27
ThanksgivingThursday, Nov. 28 and Friday, Nov. 29
Christmas EveClose at 3 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 24
ChristmasWednesday, Dec. 25
New Year's EveClose at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 31
2020
New Year's DayWednesday, Jan. 1
Martin Luther King, Jr. DayMonday, Jan. 20
Presidents DayMonday, Feb. 17
Library Board of Directors-approved closingSunday, April 12
Memorial DaySunday, May 24 and Monday, May 25
Independence DayFriday, July 3 through Sunday, July 5
Labor DaySunday, Sept.​ 6 and Monday, Sept. 7
Staff Inservice DayMonday, Oct. 12
Veterans DayWednesday, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving EveClose at 5 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 25
ThanksgivingThursday, Nov. 26 and Friday, Nov. 27
Christmas EveClose at 3 p.m. on Thursday, Dec. 24
ChristmasFriday, Dec. 25
New Year's EveClose at 5 p.m. on Thursday, Dec. 31
© Wichita Public Library. All rights reserved.