If you could save just one book, which one would it be?
  • Michel chose The Brothers Karamazov
  • Linda chose The Shack
  • Racine chose Slaughterhouse-Five
  • Sean chose 1984
  • Gaye chose East of Eden
  • Connie chose Gone with the Wind
  • Ben chose Principia Mathematica
  • Noelle chose The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
  • James chose A Wrinkle in Time
  • Clare chose Hannah Coulter
  • Heidi chose Redeeming Love
  • Patricia chose Fahrenheit 451
  • Sara chose Leaves of Grass
  • Jessica chose Jurassic Park
  • Johanna chose Watership Down
  • Mike chose Brave New World
See More

For the 9th year in a row, readers in and around Wichita will be able to participate in the City's annual literary tradition, Big Read Wichita from Oct. 1-Nov. 15. The book selected for our community to read and discuss is the classic novel, Fahrenheit 451 by acclaimed Science Fiction author Ray Bradbury.

The story follows Guy Montag, a fireman. Montag lives in a world where television has replaced literature. Books are illegal, and firemen are responsible for destroying them along with the houses that hold them. After Montag secretly takes a book from a house his team burns down, he begins to question everything he has been told.

You don't have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them.

Fahrenheit 451 cover
Reprinted with the permission of Simon & Schuster, Inc. Cover art by Matt Owen.