• All Wichita Public Library locations are closed through April 24 to minimize the spread of COVID-19. Read more...

U.S. Congressional Elections

Senators represent the entire population of a state. Each state has two senators serving 6-year terms. In Kansas, one of the Senate seats is up for election in 2020. The other seat is next up for election in 2022.

Representatives are divided into districts based on population. Most states have more than one district. In Kansas, there are four congressional districts. Each representative serves a 2-year term, and all are up for election in 2020.


Incumbent Senator Pat Roberts has announced that he will not seek re-election in 2020.

Democratic Candidates

Republican Candidates

Other candidates are running but have not officially filed as of March 8. They include Barbara Bollier (D-Mission Hills), Kris Kobach (R-Lecompton), Dave Lindstrom (R-Overland Park), Roger Marshall (R-Great Bend), Bryan Pruitt (R-Manhattan), Usha Reddi (D-Manhattan), and Susan Wagle (R-Wichita).

House of Representatives

A map highlighting the fourth congressional district of Kansas

Wichita and much of south-central Kansas are in the fourth congressional district.

Democratic Candidates

Laura Lombard (D-Wichita) is running, although she has not officially filed as of March 8.

Republican Candidates

No candidates have filed as of March 8. Ron Estes (R-Wichita) is the incumbent.

© Wichita Public Library. All rights reserved.