Change language

The Book

The House on Mango Street book cover

The bestselling coming-of-age classic, acclaimed by critics, beloved by readers of all ages, taught in schools and universities alike, and translated around the world from the winner of the 2019 PEN/Nabokov Award for Achievement in International Literature.

The House on Mango Street is the remarkable story of Esperanza Cordero, a young Latina girl growing up in Chicago, inventing for herself who and what she will become. Told in a series of vignettes-sometimes heartbreaking, sometimes deeply joyous-Sandra Cisneros' masterpiece is a classic story of childhood and self-discovery. Few other books in our time have touched so many readers.

- From Penguin Random House

La casa en Mango Street book cover

El libro clásico más vendido sobre la mayoría de edad, aclamado por la crítica, amado por lectores de todas las edades, enseñado en escuelas y universidades por igual, y traducido en todo el mundo por el ganador del premio PEN / Nabokov de 2019 por logros en literatura internacional.

La Casa en Mango Street es la notable historia de Esperanza Cordero, una joven latina que creció en Chicago, inventándose para sí misma en quién y en qué se convertirá. Contada en una serie de viñetas, a veces desgarradoras, a veces profundamente gozosas, la obra maestra de Sandra Cisneros es una historia clásica de la infancia y el autodescubrimiento. Pocos otros libros en nuestro tiempo han tocado a tantos lectores.

- De Penguin Random House

Previous NEA: Big Read Wichita Selections

†Big Read Wichita did not receive funding from the National Endowment for the Arts in 2016.

Read-alikes: Other Books You May Enjoy